Tips for moving abroad

20 Jul

ImageI moved countries plenty of time. My first move was almost 8 years ago. I was only 18 and had not a clue of what to expect. Luckily, I had a good support from my school and I manage to get by. But thinking back there are a lot of situations that could have been avoid ifI was prepared.

On my first year in Switzerland, I did not have an international credit card, I did open an account with the local bank, however money transactions took forever and sometimes when I was in need I had to wait for days for money to arrive from abroad.

After my first semester in Les Roches, I wanted to go back to Brazil for my winter break, however I was too late looking for plane tickets and I could only find one for after the New Year. Also, I did not have money or a credit card. So I was stuck here, alone and the school was closed. It was really difficult for me and my mum, who was on the other side of the globe. I ended up going to France, and stayed with a family that my sister stayed when she did an exchange program. To avoid issues like this,plan ahead. I know it sounds boring or obvious, but if you know you want to go back to your country during a break time, plan ahead. Holidays period and high season is always popular and do not underestimate how many people wants to go to the same destination as you!Also, if you book it ahead it is cheaper! 

Another tip, always have a international credit card. Specially if you are moving to the United States or Canada, because many times they will ask you for you credit history. Also because if you need quick cash the credit card comes handy.

Having a folder with all  your documents, such as wedding certificate, birth certificate, passport, id’s and etc will help you keep things organized! Also, make sure you make a folder for your new country documents and for you home country documents, since you will be paying taxes and 2 different countries now and you need to keep a track of all important documents and bills.

Also, emerge yourself into the local culture! That will make the adaption period smoother.Get to know your neighborhood,neighbors, local events, local costumes, such as do they recycle, how? That will make you fit in better and will make you feel like you a part of the community.

Study the local language and culture. Remember it was your choice to move countries! So do you home work!

And enjoy your new experience! Be open minded! Meet new people! Don’t be shy!

Moving around was the best thing I ever did with my life! I can get along with people from different countries, I can relate with different cultures, and I can eat whatever is in front of me!

Eu mudei de países por muito tempo. Minha primeira mudança foi há 8 anos atrás. Eu tinha apenas 18 anos e não tinha a menor idéia do que esperar. Felizmente, eu tinha um bom suporte da minha escola e eu conseguir me virar. Mas pensando bem,houve um monte de situações que poderiam ter sido evitadas se eu estivesse preparada.

No meu primeiro ano na Suíça, eu não tinha um cartão de crédito internacional, eu tinha aberto uma conta com o banco local, porém as transações de dinheiro levava uma eternidade e às vezes quando eu estava na necessidade,eu tinha que esperar dias para o dinheiro chegar do exterior .

Depois do meu primeiro semestre na Les Roches, eu queria voltar ao Brasil para minhas férias de inverno, no entanto eu comprei a minha passagem em cima da hora e eu só encontrei uma para depois do Ano Novo. Além disso, eu não tinha dinheiro ou cartão de crédito. Então, eu estava presa aqui, sozinha e a escola estava fechada. Foi muito difícil para mim e minha mãe, que estava do outro lado do globo. Eu acabei indo para a França, e fiquei com uma família que minha irmã ficou quando ela fez um programa de intercâmbio. Para evitar problemas como este,planeje com antecedência. Eu sei que soa chato ou óbvio, mas se você sabe que quer voltar para seu país durante um tempo de pausa, planejar com antecedência. Férias no período de alta temporada e sempre popular e não subestime o número de pessoas que querem ir para o mesmo destino que você! Além disso, se você comprar antecipado é mais barato!

Outra dica, sempre tenha um cartão de crédito internacional. Especialmente se você estiver indo para os Estados Unidos ou no Canadá, porque muitas vezes eles vão pedir para você histórico de crédito. Também porque se você precisar de dinheiro rápido o cartão de crédito se torna útil.

Tenha uma pasta com todos os seus documentos, como certidão de casamento, certidão de nascimento, passaporte, identidades, titulo de eleitor e etc vai ajudá-lo a manter as coisas organizadas! Além disso, certifique-se de fazer uma pasta para os documentos do novo país que voce vai morar e para os documentos do país de origem, já que você estará pagando impostos em 2 países diferentes e você precisa manter um controle de todos os documentos importantes e contas. Para Brasileiros também é importante de guardar o canhoto da passagem de avião, pois se tiver alguma eleição enquanto você estiver fora você precisa do canhoto para poder justificar o voto.

Se entregar na cultura local fará com que o período de adaptação seja mais tranquilo. Vai conhecer o seu bairro, vizinhos, eventos locais, costumes locais,sera que eles reciclam, como? Isso fará com que você se encaixe melhor e vai fazer você se sentir parte da comunidade.

Estude a língua e a cultura local. Lembre-se que foi a sua escolha mudar de países! Então faca o seu para casa!

Desfrute da sua nova experiência! Tenha a mente aberta! Conheça novas pessoas! Não seja tímido!

Mudar foi a melhor coisa que já fiz com a minha vida! Eu posso conviver com pessoas de diferentes países, posso me relacionar com culturas diferentes, eu posso comer o que está na minha frente!

Leave a Reply

My Small World

Fun Love Life

Musicblog95

Not just another WordPress.com site

Photo Nature Blog

Nature Photography by Jeffrey Foltice

CAT IN WATER

Art. Design. Nature. Inspiration

The Jumpingpolarbear Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Blog da MULTI AD

Branding + Design + Marketing + Social Media